Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


In our Partner News we feature news from the many partners and sponsors that APECS is working with. If you have an article to contribute, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Only the Partner News of the last ca. 6 months are kept on this page. To view the older Partner News, please go to our Partner News Archive.

                                                                                       © Vikram Goel, Alexey Pavlov, Alexey Pavlov, Alice Bradley, Saskia Gindraux (left to right)


GYA Membership Call 2020 open until 15 September

A call for Global Young Academy (GYA) membership from 2020 is open until 15 September 2019 (22h:00 UTC). Applications are currently being sought from young, independent scholars who combine the highest level of research excellence with a demonstrated passion for delivering impact. More information on how to apply and our online application form can be found here.

Read more ...

International Glaciological Society (IGS) honorary awards for 2019

IGS logoThe IGS President and Council Members are pleased to announce that, in 2019, individual Seligman Crystals (forexceptional scientific contributions to glaciology) have been awarded to Douglas R. MacAyeal and to Richard Hindmarsh; and that a Richardson Medal (for outstanding service to the International Glaciological Society and/or to the field of glaciology) has been awarded to Johannes Oerlemans. These awards were made from a strong field of applicants for both awards.

Read more ...

IACS-IGS Graham Cogley Award

We are delighted to announce that the first recipients of the newly established IACS-IGS Graham Cogley Award are Carolina Aubry-Wake, University of Saskatchewan, Canada, and Eric Keenan, University of Boulder, USA, in recognition of their presentations at the IUGG General Assembly in July 2019.

The new IACS-IGS Graham Cogley Award was established in memory of Graham Cogley (Trent University, Canada) who passed away in October 2018.

Read more ...

Call for Input: ARCUS Networking Survey

arcusThe Arctic Research Consortium of the U.S. (ARCUS) is currently conducting a brief community survey to inform a potential new effort that will help individuals interested in interdisciplinary/ transdisciplinary Arctic research opportunities to connect more easily. The survey deadline is 31 July 2019.

Read more ...

Open vacancy at SCAR: Communications and Information Officer

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is looking for a part-time Communications and Information Officer to promote SCAR’s activities within the Antarctic research community and beyond. Working from the SCAR office in Cambridge, UK, the successful candidate will play a key role in growing our social media presence, assisting with preparations for SCAR meetings and conferences, and supporting the smooth running of the Secretariat.  This is a fixed-term appointment of 24 months, with the possibility of extension.  

The closing date for applications is Tuesday 16 July 2019.

For full details of the post and how to apply, go to:

Call for nominations: Mohn Prize 2020

UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Academia Borealis - The Academy of Sciences and Letters of Northern Norway, and Tromsø Research Foundation welcome nominations for The International Mohn Prize for Outstanding Research Related to the Arctic (The Mohn Prize). 

Read more ...

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events