Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

In our Polar News we feature news from a variety of sources related to research in the Arctic, Antarctic and Alpine regions as well as the wider Cryosphere. Many thanks to APECS members and the wider Polar research community for contributing to this shared resources! If you have an article to contribute, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..       

Only the Polar News of the last ca. 6 months are kept on this page. To view the older Polar News, please go to our Polar News Archive.

                               © Alexey Pavlov, Caroline Coch, Alice Bradley, Adrian Dahood, Elizabeth Erickson (left to right)

Banner 4

 

CNARC Fellowship Program for Year 2019-2020 and CNARC Recruitment Notice

With the successful operations of CNARC fellowship program for the past five years, CNARC Secretariat is about to launch its Fellowship Program for Year 2019 – 2020. In this new round of application, fellowships shall be granted to 2 Nordic and 2 Chinese fellow candidates respectively, to advance their own research project that falls on CNARC’s research priorities or the themes of the 8th China-Nordic Arctic Cooperation Symposium (CNACS) to be held in Umeå in 2020, for a 1-2 month period in an institute within CNARC’s network.

Read more ...

Funding Opportunity through Arctic Domain Awareness Center

ADAC The Arctic Domain Awareness Center (ADAC) invites proposals for a competitive search to address research challenges associated with multiple Arctic response capability gaps and shortfalls in science and technology. ADAC anticipates approximately three to five projects in varying funding amounts may be awarded under this solicitation. 

Read more ...

Funding Opportunities Available: NOAA Climate Program Office

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) invites letters of intent for funding opportunities. These opportunities are offered through NOAA’s Climate Program Office (CPO). The first opportunity invites letters of intent for Climate Program Office Fiscal Year 2020 (FY20) funding. This opportunity includes 10 competitions with approximately 90 anticipated awards.

Read more ...

REMINDER for Conference Registration – Arctic Futures 2050 - 3 September

Organizers invite registration for the Arctic Futures 2050 conference. This conference will convene 4-6 September 2019 in Washington, D.C. Arctic Futures 2050—convened by the Study of Environmental Arctic Change (SEARCH)—is an international conference designed to enhance collaboration between Arctic scientists from many disciplines, diverse Indigenous knowledge holders, and policy makers from all levels of government. Arctic Futures 2050 will explore opportunities for deeper dialogue and avenues to sustained collaboration.

Read more ...

A Greenland Dialogues Event

Organizers invite attendance at their next installment of the Greenland Dialogues. This event, titled Greenland-U.S. Research Cooperation: Exploring a New Model for Research in Greenland, will convene 9 September 2019 from 12:30 to 4:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time at the Woodrow Wilson Center in Washington, D.C. A webcast will also be available for this event. A webcast will be available for this event.

Read more ...

Call for Abstracts: Greenland Science Week

Organizers invite abstracts for poster and an oral presentations for the Greenland Science Week. The theme of the conference will be Connecting Science and Communities, and will convene 1-5 December 2019 in Nuuk, Greenland. Greenland Science Week builds bridges between science and the Greenlandic society, business community, and government, and creates a networking and cooperation platform for the Greenlandic and international science community around research in the Arctic. The event welcomes participants from a wide range of fields.

Read more ...

SAVE THE DATE: SIPN2 Webinar - 17 September 2019

The Sea Ice Prediction Network – Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces an open webinar entitled An Overview of European Union-Funded Project APPLICATE featuring Pablo Ortega, Earth Science Department, Barcelona Supercomputing Center. The one-hour webinar will be held on Tuesday, 17 September, starting at: 8:00 a.m. (AKDT), 9:00 a.m. (PDT), 10:00 a.m. (MDT) 11:00 a.m. (CDT), 12:00 p.m. (EDT), and 6:00 p.m. (CEST).

Read more ...

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events