Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Who's Who - Polar Acronyms

Antarctic Treaty Secretariat
  • Policy
  • Treaty
  • Antarctic
  • Government
The Antarctic Treaty operated without any continuing institution until 1 September 2004, when the Secretariat of the Antarctic Treaty was established and based in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Under direction of the ATCM, the Secretariat carries out the tasks specified in Measure 1 (2003), which can be summarized under the following headings:
- Supporting the annual Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) and the meeting of the Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP).
- Facilitating the exchange of information between the Parties required in the Treaty and the Environment Protocol.
- Collecting, storing, archiving and making available the documents of the ATCM.
- Providing and disseminating information about the Antarctic Treaty system and Antarctic activities.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events