Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

Polar and Alpine Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Download as iCal file
mini-course: Teaching about Our Changing Climate: Data Behind Melting Ice and Changing Sea Level
Thursday 28 January 2021
Location Online

GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) Project presents the mini-course:

https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/workshops/virtual_mini_shortcourse/course_4/index.html">Teaching about Our Changing Climate: Data Behind Melting Ice and Changing Sea Level [Majors-level module]
  • Date: Thursday January 28, 2021
  • Time: 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT  |  2-4 pm CT  |  3-5 pm ET  |  8-10 pm UTC
  • Registration deadline: Tuesday January 26, 2021

This mini-course will give instructors a chance to learn about the https://serc.carleton.edu/getsi/teaching_materials/climate_change/index.html">Our Changing Climate: Data Behind Melting Ice and Changing Sea Level module and ideas for teaching virtually and in-person. The mini-course includes interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. A great opportunity to learn about cutting edge methods for monitoring climate, such as sea-level altimetry, gravity, InSAR, and GPS. $50 stipend* for completion of the course and short implementation plan.

Climate change is a defining challenge of the current age, and sea-level rise is one of the greatest effects. This module helps students to learn about primary stakeholders in sea-level change and explore a wide variety of climate-related data. The module opens with a stakeholder analysis for residents of a small island nation (Maldives), a coastal developing nation (Bangladesh), and a major coastal urban area (southern California). Students then gain considerable spreadsheet analysis skills through analyzing sea surface temperature, sea-level altimetry, GRACE, InSAR, and GPS data to better understand the factors influencing sea level, including thermal expansion, ice mass loss, and changes in land water storage. Students also consider how much more sea levels will rise this century. The final project is a report to a relevant stakeholder group that synthesizes the current knowledge.


This is part of a larger series with other upcoming opportunities.
The series is designed to support undergraduate instructors interested in using GETSI modules — teaching resources that  feature data and quantitative skills applied to critical topics such as natural hazards, climate change, and water resources. 

Each mini-course is two hours long and will focus on one of the published GETSI modules. Unlike a webinar, these mini-courses will include interactive opportunities for instructors to actually work through parts of student exercises, discuss ideas with peers, and work on implementation planning. $50 stipend available.*
Upcoming mini-courses with registrations opening soon:
  • Teaching about Measuring the Earth with GPS: Plate Motion and Changing Ice-Water [Introductory-level]
    • Week of Feb 8 - exact time TBD
  • Teaching about Monitoring Volcanoes and Communicating Risks  [Introductory-level]
    • Date: Wednesday February 24, 2021
    • Time: 8-10 am PT  |  9-11 am MT  |  10 am-12pm CT  |  11 am-1 pm ET |  4-6 pm UTC

*Stipend for participants who complete the Implementation Planning Form by the Sunday after the mini-course. Must be US citizen or permanent resident to receive stipend; however, others are welcome to participate without compensation. You may attend multiple mini-courses. Stipends will be compiled and sent out after the end of the term during which the mini-course was held.

GETSI is funded by the US National Science Foundation. All modules are free and distributed online via the GETSI website.
 
Thursday 28 January 2021

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events