Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Who we are Banner 2

© Fiona Tummon, Francisco Fernandoy, ECMWF, Cynthia Sassenroth

APECS would like to thank the many members of the Polar Research Community that have agreed to serve as members of our Advisory Committee. Their opinions and input during these early stages of our organizational development are critical. It is also imperative that as young researchers we are guided by senior researchers with valuable wisdom to help our organization grow and our members pass through the stages of professional development that are often challenging.

If you are interested in serving on the Advisory Committee or know someone who would be a great asset, please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Meet the Advisors

  • Ian Allison - Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre (ACE CRC), University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Renuka Badhe - European Polar Board - Netherlands
  • Jenny Baeseman - Baeseman Consulting & Services LLC - United States
  • Robin Bell - Columbia University, United States
  • John Bennett - Bennett & Associates, United States
  • Paul Berkman - Tufts University, United States
  • Richard Boone - University of Alaska Fairbanks, United States
  • Charles Fierz - WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF, Switzerland
  • Gerlis Fugmann - International Arctic Science Committee, Iceland
  • Alan Hemmings - Gateway Antarctica Centre for Antarctic Studies and Research, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Gerard Jugie - France
  • Hugues Lantuit - Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Germany
  • Douglas R. MacAyeal - University of Chicago, United States
  • Volker Rachold - German Arctic Office at Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Germany
  • Gunhild Ninis Rosqvist - University of Stockholm, Sweden
  • Martin Schneebeli - WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF, Switzerland
  • David Scott - Polar Knowledge Canada, Canada
  • Mike Sparrow - World Meteorological Organization, Switzerland
  • Patti Virtue - University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Helen Wiggins - Arctic Research Consortium of the U. S., United States
  • Jose Xavier - University of Coimbra, Portugal / British Antarctic Survey, United Kingdom

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events