Association of Polar Early Career Scientists

 

Polar and Alpine Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
Download as iCal file
SIPN2 Webinar: 2021 Sea Ice Outlook Post-Season Review
Monday 11 October 2021
Location Online

The Sea Ice Prediction Network-Phase 2 (SIPN2) announces a call for registration for the upcoming webinar and discussion: "2021 Sea Ice Outlook Post-Season Review". This event will be held on Monday, 11 October 2021. Starting time for the 90-minute webinar is: 9:00 a.m. (AKDT), 10:00 a.m. (PDT), 11:00 a.m. (MDT) 12:00 p.m. (CDT), 1:00 p.m. (EDT), 5:00 p.m. (UTC), and 7:00 pm (CET).

Please Register Here

This webinar will provide a post-season review of the 2021 Sea Ice Outlook (SIO) with three 10-minute presentations from members of SIPN2 Project Team including:

  • An overview of observed conditions during the 2021 Arctic sea-ice retreat season, by Walt Meier;
  • A summary of how the sea-ice extent predictions contributed to the SIO performed in comparison to the observed September monthly mean extent, by Edward Blanchard-Wrigglesworth; and
  • An overview of lessons learned from the SIPN2 project, by Uma Bhatt.

Twenty minutes for open discussion will follow each of the three presentations.

This webinar is designed for the sea-ice research community and others interested in information about sea-ice forecasting. While this is an open event, attendees should be aware that the discussions will largely be of a technical nature.

Further Information

The webinar will be archived and available online after the event.

 

Monday 11 October 2021

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: info(at)apecs.is

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events