Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Who's Who - Polar Acronyms

Kivalliq Inuit Association
The Kivalliq Region one of Nunavut's three Regions. It includes mainland to the west of Hudson Bay together with Southampton Island and Coats Island. The population (2006) is 8,348 in an area of 445,109 square kilometers.

The Hub of the region is Rankin Inlet. Other communities include Arviat, Baker Lake, Chesterfield Inlet, Coral Harbour, Repulse Bay and Whale Cove.

Before Nunavut became a Territory in 1999, Kivalliq Region existed under slightly different boundaries as Keewatin Region, Northwest Territories.

The Kivalliq Inuit Association (KIA) represents the interests of all Inuit living in the Kivalliq Region.

Management of lands in Kivalliq, including access to lands for visitors, is the responsibility of the KIA Lands Department

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events