Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


APECS 10 year logoAPECS is excited to announce that another leadership term has begun on 1 October 2017!

APECS Executive Committee 2017-2018:

APECS’ eleventh Executive Committee (ExCom) is now in place and ready to continue to shape the polar world.

  • Jilda Caccavo (University of Padua, Italy)
  • Jean Holloway (University of Ottawa, Canada)
  • Hanne Nielsen (University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Gabriela Roldán (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)
  • Alex Thornton (University of Alaska Fairbanks, United States)

have been elected to form the ExCom, the main leadership body of APECS. Ruth Vingerhagen (Norway) and Alice Bradley (United States) will serve as ex-officios and support the new ExCom over the coming year. And of course, Gerlis Fugmann, the APECS Executive Director will continue to support and foster the group from the International Directorate Office in Potsdam, Germany. More information on the APECS 2017-2018 Executive Committee can be found here.

Hanne Nielsen 2017


APECS President 2017-2018:

With a new term, comes a new president, and this year Hanne Nielsen will be taking on this role. Hanne recently completed her PhD at the University of Tasmania, where she analysed representations of Antarctica in advertising material. She is a 2017 SCAR Fellow, and an active member of the SCAR Humanities and Social Sciences Expert Group. Hanne has been involved in APECS leadership for the past three years, and is also a member of APECS Oceania.

More information on Hanne can be found here. 



APECS Council 2017-2018:

In 2017-2018 the APECS Council is made up of 65 very enthusiastic members from 24 countries: 

Kelsey Aho (USA), Stefano Ambroso (Spain), Atreya Basu (Canada), Liz Bowman (USA), Julie Bull (Canada), François Burgay (Italy), Emily Choy (Canada), Nicolas Champollion (Germany / Switzerland), Henrik Christiansen (Belgium), Casey Clark (USA), Matteo Luciano Contu (UK), Jennifer Cooper (USA), Jim Crowell (USA), Adrian Dahood (USA), Donovan Dennis (USA), Meagan Dewar (Australia), Denis Doronin (Russia), Clare Eayrs (United Arab Emirates), Alevtina Evgrafova (Germany/ Switzerland), Natalie Freeman (USA), Yi-Ming Gan (Belgium), Vikram Goel (Norway / India), Christel Hansen (South Africa), Laura Hobbs (UK), Juan Höfer (Chile), Bruno Ibañez (Peru), Cyril Jaksic (New Zealand), Shridhar Jawak (India), Meric Karahalil (Turkey), Hanna Maria Kauko (Norway), Amy Kirkham (USA), Nikita Kuprikov (Russia), Sasha Leidman (USA), Josefine Lenz (Germany), Arinda Mandal (India/ Germany), Sebastián Marinsek (Argentina), Claudia Maturana (Chile), Kyle Mayers (UK), Swati Nagar (India), Ozgun Oktar (Turkey), Ankit Pramanik (Norway), José Queirós (Portugal), Kabir Rasouli (Canada), Corinna Röver (Sweden), Paul Rosenbaum (France), Morgan Seag (UK), Jose Seco (Portugal / UK), Elisa Seyboth (Brazil), Grace Shephard (Norway), Neelu Singh (India), Runa Skarbø (Norway), Petr Sorokin (Russia), Kent Spiers (Canada), Sara Strey (USA), Greta Carrete Vega (Spain), David Velazquez (Spain), Florian Vidal (France), Deniz Vural (Turkey), Gary Wesche (USA), Nadya Yanakieva (Bulgaria), Sinan Yirmibesoglu (Turkey)

Additionally, TJ Young (UK), Tristy Vick-Majors (Canada), Yulia Zaika (Russia) and Scott Zolkos (Canada) remain on the Council in an ex-officio role. More information on the APECS 2017-2018 Council can be found here.

Once again, we thank the many APECS leaders that have come before us and have helped guide and foster many of those serving today! We look forward to another year with the projects that are currently underway, and continue to look for more ways that we can improve and expand this organization and assist early career polar researchers around the world.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events