Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


SSC logo horisontal

During the recent Svalbard Science Conference (6 - 8 November, Oslo, Norway) there were two evening poster sessions where researchers had the opportunity to showcase their work and impress a team of judges.  The well-deserved prizes were awarded during the conference dinner. Prizes were awarded in two categories: early career researcher (ECR) and experienced researcher (ER). The competition organised by APECS in collaboration with the Research Council of Norway. We would like to thank all the judges who contributed their time to judge the posters and of course to all the presenters!

Winner: Alistair Everett "Seals like plumes"
Runner Up: Megan Lee "The impact of pollution on pathogen prevalence in an Arctic seabird"

Winner: Agnès Baltzer "Evolution of pro-deltas: a print of glacier melt processes"
Runner Up: Edyta Łokas "Airborne contaminants in terrestrial environments in Svalbard"

Congratulations to all! 2017 Svalbard ScienceConference PosterAwards


Caption: The winning posters and (L to R) Harald Ellingson (Managing Director, UNIS and Chair of Advisory Scientific Committee), Ruth Vingerhagen (APECS), Agnès Baltzer, Edyta Łokas, Alistair Everett, and a colleague of Megan Lee.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events