Association of Polar Early Career Scientists
 

SecNet logoInteract logoapecs logo web

 

Indigenous Peoples of the Arctic Countries website

When we conduct research in the Arctic we are visitors in someone else's homeland: people who live there all year round, who have unique knowledge and wish to be involved in research concerning their land and ways of life. In this pair of webinars, arising from conversations at the 2017 Siberian Environmental Change Network (SecNet) workshop (arranged in cooperation with INTERACT), two speakers will build on their personal experiences to highlight ways in which researchers can successfully engage with local communities, from a Canadian and a Russian perspective.

Webinar 1: Dr. Sandra Juutilainen, University of Waterloo
When: Friday 4 May, 16:00 GMT (12 noon Toronto) Register here!

Webinar 2: Lidia Rakhmanova, PhD in Sociology, Sociologist of the Center of Sociological Research, the State Hermitage Museum, associated member of the Sociological Institute of FCTAS RAS
When: Thursday 10 May, 13:00 GMT (16:00 Moscow) Register here!
Please note this webinar will be held in Russian.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Germany
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events