Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


iasc webapecs logo web

The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) have the pleasure to announce the start of the 2019 IASC Fellowship Program. The Program received 108 applications for only 5 slots.

During the selection process, APECS coordinated the generous work of our independent, volunteer reviewers to evaluate and recommend the highest quality candidates, and final selection was made in consultation with each of the IASC Working Group chairs. The chairs and reviewers were certainly impressed by the record amount and excellent quality of the applications.

The 2019 IASC Fellows are:

Sophie Haslett, Stockholm University, Sweden (Atmosphere Working Group)
Expertise: Arctic aerosols and trace gases; Mass spectrometry; Atmospheric chemistry

Barbara Barzycka, Centre for Polar Studies, University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland (Cryosphere Working Group)
Expertise: Remote sensing; Glacier facies; Drone mapping

Maria Paulsen, Aarhus University, Denmark (Marine Working Group)
Expertise: Microbial foodwebs; Terrestrial runoff; Bacterial activity

Megan Sheremata, University of Toronto Scarborough, Canada (Social and Human Working Group)
Expertise: Inuit knowledge, Environmental change; Eastern Hudson Bay

Clay Prater, Loughborough University, UK (Terrestrial Working Group)
Expertise: Elemental ecology; Cross-system nutrient flux; Limnology

The IASC Fellowship Program is meant to engage ECS in the work of the IASC Working Groups. More information about the IASC Fellowship Program can be found here.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events