Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation in cooperation with the Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) are excited to announce the recipients of the 2024 IASC Fellowship Program. 

On the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the IASC Fellowship program in 2024, ten successful early career researchers were identified for all available fellowships. APECS coordinated the application and review process; recommendations from APECS based on the peer review process were delivered for final selection to the IASC Working Group Chairs and the SAON Leadership. The reviewers were impressed by the excellent quality of the applications. 

The 2024 IASC Fellows are: 

  • Patrik Winiger (Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland) – Atmosphere Working Group  | Expertise: Arctic and high-altitude aerosols, atmospheric chemistry, analytical chemistry
  • Robbie Mallett (UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Norway) – Cryosphere Working Group  | Expertise: Snow, sea ice, radar, altimetry
  • Beatriz Recinos-Rivas (University of Edinburgh, UK) – Cryosphere Working Group, IASC-PA2F Fellow  | Expertise: Ice-ocean interactions, numerical modeling, sea level rise
  • Daniela Walch (Université du Québec à Rimouski, Canada) – Marine Working Group  | Expertise: Aquatic remote sensing, biogeochemistry
  • Charlotte Gehrke (Nord University, Norway) – Social Human Working Group  | Expertise: Environmental policy, science communication, science diplomacy
  • Elena Adasheva-Klein (Yale University / New York University, USA) - Social Human Working Group, IASC-PA2F Fellow  | Expertise: Human-environment relations, environmental anthropology, environmental humanities
  • Anita Lafferty (University of Alberta, Canada) - Social Human Working Group,  Indigenous Fellow | Expertise: Indigenous pedagogy, decolonization, land-based
  • Louise Mercer (Northumbria University, UK) - Terrestrial Working Group  | Expertise: Community-based monitoring, Arctic environmental monitoring, co-development
  • Kathleen Orndahl (Northern Arizona University, USA) – Terrestrial Working Group, IASC-PA2F Fellow  | Expertise: Satellite remote sensing; herbivore-vegetation interactions; vegetation change
  • Izuchukwu O Ezukanma (University of Florida, USA) – IASC-ROADS Fellow | Expertise: Tundra, weathering, Greenland

The IASC Fellowship Program provides the opportunity for early career researchers to become involved in leading-edge scientific activities at a circumarctic and international level, to build an international network, and also to develop management skills. 

The IASC Fellows engage in the work of the IASC Working Groups (WGs): AtmosphereCryosphereMarineSocial & Human, and Terrestrial

At times, IASC also offers special joint Fellowships in cooperation with other partners, which this year is the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation (PA2F) and the Sustaining Arctic Observing Network (SAON):

  • IASC-PA2F Fellowships: As part of the Polar Initiative with the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, three of the IASC Fellowships 2024 are generously funded by the foundation.
  • IASC-ROADS Fellowship: SAON has initiated the Roadmap for Arctic Observing and Data Systems (ROADS) as a planning framework to support its national and organizational partners. In partnership with IASC these efforts are offering one Fellowship in 2024 to support an early career researcher to get more involved in the work of SAON-ROADS.

The next round of applications will open in autumn 2024. 

More information about the IASC Fellowship Program can be found here.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events