Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


SCAR is pleased to announce that Dr. Jenny Baeseman has just been hired as
the new SCAR Executive Director.  Jenny has been the Executive Director of
the WCRP Climate and Cryosphere (CliC) project since 2012 and previous to
that was the Founding Director of the Association of Polar Early Career
Scientists (APECS). She has a strong history working with SCAR in these
capacities and in addition has spent 3 field seasons in the McMurdo Dry
Valleys and participated in a Students On Ice Antarctic University
Expedition to the Antarctic Peninsula. She will begin to transition into
the role starting 1 July and be full time starting 1 September. We look
forward to Jenny continuing the excellent trajectory marked by our
previous executive directors, Colin Summerhayes and Mike Sparrow.

We also want to take this opportunity to publicly thank Mike Sparrow for
his efficient work and important contribution to SCAR during the last
years as Executive Director, and wish him all the best in his new job. We
also thank Rosemary Nash and Eoghan Griffin for their continued  excellent
work and commitment to SCAR, especially in these particularly busy times.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. Baeseman as the new SCAR Executive

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events