Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Antarctic Organisations Announce 2015 Fellowship Recipients

SCAR Antarctic Science Fellowships
COMNAP Antarctic Research Fellowships

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) and the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP) are pleased to announce this year’s Fellowship awardees.

The Fellowships are worth up to $US15,000 each and six Fellowships (four SCAR, one COMNAP and one joint SCAR/COMNAP) will be awarded in this round. The SCAR Fellowships are awarded to: Jennifer Newall, Sebastian Rosier, Rowan Trebilco and Christine Dow. Rowan Trebilco becomes the first Prince Albert II of Monaco Fellow, funded from the Prix Biodiversité awarded to SCAR in 2013. The COMNAP Fellowship is awarded to: Alejandro Velasco Castrillón. A co-funded SCAR/COMNAP Fellowship was awarded to: Inka Koch.

This year, 37 applications were received. The winners of the Fellowships will carry out a range of scientific research in areas including ice sheet modelling and grounding zones, Southern Ocean ecosystems, terrestrial ecology and subglacial hydrology. Candidates come from a wide geographic spread of countries, including Argentina, Australia, France, India, Italy, Sweden, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

SCAR has been offering scientific fellowships to early career scientists since 2005. Such fellowships have enabled Antarctic scientists to participate in a range of significant research including using ice cores to determine proxies for the Southern Annular Mode, a molecular study of Antarctic ostracods, and investigating particulate carbon and biogenic silica in sea ice in both the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Since 2005, 34 SCAR Fellowships have been awarded.

In 2011, COMNAP launched the Antarctic Research Fellowship Scheme, offering one fellowship for an early career person in order to carry out research within a COMNAP National Antarctic Program. With this year’s awards, there have been nine COMNAP Fellowships or joint Fellowships awarded.

The Fellowships supports the scientific goals of SCAR and the international cooperation goal of COMNAP to develop and promote best practice in managing the support to Antarctic science. The Fellowships enable the early career researchers to join a project team from another country, opening up new opportunities and often creating research partnerships that last many years and over many Antarctic research seasons.

Background information:

The Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research (SCAR)
Contact: Eoghan Griffin, Executive Officer
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
+44 1223 336556

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is an inter-disciplinary committee of the International Council for Science (ICSU). SCAR is charged with initiating, developing and coordinating high quality international scientific research in the Antarctic region, and on the role of the Antarctic region in the Earth system. The scientific business of SCAR is conducted by its Standing Scientific Groups which represent the scientific disciplines active in Antarctic research and report to SCAR. In addition to carrying out its primary scientific role, SCAR also provides objective and independent scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings and other organizations on issues of science and conservation affecting the management of Antarctica and the Southern Ocean.

The Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP)
Contact: Michelle Rogan-Finnemore, Executive Secretary
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
+643 364-2273

COMNAP brings together the National Antarctic Programs of 30 Antarctic Treaty countries. Formed in 1988, the purpose of COMNAP is to develop and promote best practice in managing the support of scientific research in Antarctica. It does this by: Serving as a forum to develop practices that improve effectiveness of activities in an environmentally responsible manner; Facilitating and promoting international partnerships; Providing opportunities and systems for information exchange; and Providing the Antarctic Treaty System with objective and practical, technical and non-political advice drawn from the National Antarctic Programs' pool of expertise.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events