Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


The call for proposals for the 2016 – 2018 Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship is now open. The Fellowship provides young scientists with the opportunity to conduct research in East Antarctica operating out of the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station.

A joint initiative of the Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation, the €150,000 research grant aims to promote scientific excellence in Antarctica and underscores the crucial role polar science plays in furthering our understanding of the Earth and how it functions.

Young researchers interested in conducting research in the atmospheric sciences, glaciology, geology and microbiology (excluding marine microbiology) at, or near, the Princess Elisabeth Antarctica are encouraged to apply.

Since 2012, the Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship has been open to applicants from any country around the world. Applicants must be either doctoral researchers or post-doctoral researchers who have completed their PhD within the past 10 years. The successful applicant will continue to work at their current research organisation.

More information is available at

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events