Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


SCAR logo white backgroundThe Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is pleased to announce the 2017 Fellowship awardees.

This year, a total of 38 applications were received for the Fellowships, which are for up to US$15,000 each. Six SCAR Fellowships will be awarded in this round, thanks to the generous support of an extra Fellowship by India. The details for each of this years Fellows are listed below:

  • Leena Riekkola from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, who will visit the Marine Mammal Laboratory, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, NOAA, Seattle, USA, for her project entitled – Spatial analysis of humpback whale behaviour and habitat use patterns in Antarctica

  • Julie Janssens from the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, Australia, who will visit the Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat: Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN), France, for her project entitled – Representation of iron in a sea-ice biogeochemical model

  • Shramik Patil from the National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR), India, who will visit UPMC-CNRS Station Biologique de Roscoff, France, for his project entitled – Response of Southern Indian Ocean coccolithophores to climate change: evidence from laboratory culture experiments. Shramik also becomes the third Prince Albert II of Monaco Fellow, funded from the Prix Biodiversite awarded to SCAR in 2013.

  • Hanne Nielsen from the University of Tasmania, Australia, who will visit KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden, for her project entitled – Framing Antarctica as Fragile: Tracing the evolution of media narratives about the far south (1945 – 2015)

  • Antonio Aguera Garcia from the Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium, who will visit the University of Otago, New Zealand, for his project entitled – Transgenerational Plasticity (TGP) and acclimation in a keystone Polar Invertebrate in response to a warmer more acidic Antarctic

  • Filip Hrbáček from the Department of Geography, Masaryk University, Czech Republic, who will visit Insubria University, Italy, for his project entitled – Effect of vegetation cover on active layer thermal regime in climatically contrasted environments of Antarctica.

SCAR has been offering scientific fellowships to early career scientists since 2005. The Fellowships support the scientific goals of SCAR, enabling the early career researchers to join a project team from another country, opening up new opportunities and often creating research partnerships that last many years and over many Antarctic research seasons.

Since 2003, 56 SCAR Fellowships have been awarded.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events