Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Academia Borealis - The Academy of Sciences and Letters of Northern Norway, and Tromsø Research Foundation welcome nominations for The International Mohn Prize for Outstanding Research Related to the Arctic (The Mohn Prize). 

The Mohn Prize was established by the board of UiT The Arctic University of Norway in 2017. The prize, which carries a cash award of 2 million NOK (approximately 210 000 €), is awarded biennially. 

The prize is awarded to an individual or to a research group who has published excellent research related to the Arctic, who holds a leading position internationally in his/her/their field of research, and who has brought to light groundbreaking new knowledge related to nature and/or culture in the Arctic. 

Nominees for the prize will be evaluated by an international scientific committee.

The recipient of the Mohn Prize will be announced in September/October 2019, and the award ceremony will take place in Tromsø in January 2020. 

We hereby invite you (or your society or institution) to nominate candidate(s) for the Mohn Prize 2020. Nominations should be submitted using the web based nomination form available at, and must include (in addition to a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees) names of (at least) two distinguished specialists in the field of  the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion. 

The deadline for nominations is the 31st of July 2019.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events