Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


IGS logoThe IGS President and Council Members are pleased to announce that, in 2019, individual Seligman Crystals (forexceptional scientific contributions to glaciology) have been awarded to Douglas R. MacAyeal and to Richard Hindmarsh; and that a Richardson Medal (for outstanding service to the International Glaciological Society and/or to the field of glaciology) has been awarded to Johannes Oerlemans. These awards were made from a strong field of applicants for both awards.

The citations for the 2019 awards are:

Doug MacAyeal has made exceptional scientific contributions to glaciology in the field of computational glaciology including his finite-element ice-shelf model and his pioneering model of tidal circulation beneath floating ice. He has made major advances in understanding the link between ice-stream flow and the underlying bedrock/till, combining theoretical studies with field observations. Doug “thinks outside the square” and his research legacy is diverse, creative and often unorthodox. Doug’s work has been tremendously influential to the development of computational glaciology over more than 30 years, and he has been a generous and inspirational mentor to many.

Richard Hindmarsh has made major advances in theoretical glaciology and especially ice sheet modelling using the latest methods and techniques from physics, numerical methods and mathematics. He has led and inspired developments in the theory and models of marine ice-sheet instability, grounding line migration, the role of membrane stresses in regulating ice-stream flow, improved ice-sheet model numerics and sediment deformation - among others. Richard has collaborated widely across a wide field of glaciological topics and he has been a key leader in ice sheet model intercomparison projects.

Johannes (Hans) Oerlemans has provided outstanding service to the field of Glaciology and has made a particularly significant impact on many early career glaciologists. Hans established the Karthaus summer school on “Ice Sheets and Glaciers in the Climate System” more than two decades ago and now runs it annually, providing a unique training experience. Karthaus has had a major impact on our community by educating and mentoring students and ECS, and also because it has provided an opportunity for the teachers to meet, interact and exchange ideas. Since its formation, more than 50 teachers have taught at the course and institutions across the world have sent over 500 students to Karthaus. Hans’ mentoring and education efforts have also been major in many other areas.

Congratulations to all the awardees.

It has now been decided that the award ceremony will be at the IGS symposium on 'Ice Streams and Outlet Glaciers' to be held at Durham University 19–24 July 2020. The exact time of the ceremony has not yet been set.

Nominations for 2020 awards can be made at any time up until the (yet unannounced) closing date. See:

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events