Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


iasc webThe IASC Medal is awarded in recognition of exceptional and sustained contributions to the understanding of the Arctic. A maximum of one award is made each year, assuming that there is a nominee of appropriate quality. The whole IASC community, from all countries and career stages, is encouraged to submit a nomination by sending this form to the IASC Executive Secretary, demonstrating the nominee’s excellence (see evaluation criteria) and sustained contribution to the understanding of the Arctic.

Nominations for the 2020 IASC Medal, which is expected to be awarded at ASSW 2020 in Akureyri, Iceland, can be submitted to the IASC Executive Secretary until 31 December 2019.IASC seeks a diverse slate of nominees for the IASC medal; a list of previous IASC Medal recipients is available on the IASC website. To aid in soliciting a more diverse set of nominations, figures showing some statistics from previous IASC Medal nominees are available on the IASC website.

Questions, comments, or concerns should be directed to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events