Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Interact logoOrganizers of the European Union-Horizon 2020 -funded International Network for Terrestrial Research and Monitoring in the Arctic (INTERACT III) announce the first call for research groups to apply for Trans-national Access (TA) to 10 new research stations offering TA in INTERACT III. The call is for access taking place between June 2020 and April 2021.  

The stations included in the call are located in Canada, Greenland, Iceland, Russia, Svalbard, and U.S. The sites represent a variety of ecosystems, providing opportunities for researchers from natural sciences to human dimension. Transnational Access includes free access (either physical or remote) for user groups/users to research facilities and field sites, including support for travel and logistic costs.

Overall, INTERACT provides three different modalities of access: Transnational and Remote Access that are applied through annual calls, and Virtual Access (VA), which means free access to data from stations, available at all times through the INTERACT VA single-entry point.

TA/RA Call Information 
Descriptions of Stations and Their Facilities
INTERACCESS On-line Application System

The stations offering INTERACT Trans-national Access in the ongoing call are:

  • Adam Mickiewicz University Polar Station “Petuniabukta” (AMUPS)
  • Arctic Research Station (ARS)
  • Barrow Arctic Research Center (BARC)
  • China Iceland Arctic Research Observatory (CIAO)
  • Churchill Northern Studies Centre (CNSC)
  • International Ecological –Educational Center “Istomino” (ISTOMINO)
  • Lammin-Suo Peatland Station (LAMMIN-SUO)
  • North-East Science Station (NESS)
  • DMI Geophysical Observatory Qaanaaq (QAANAAQ)
  • Uapishka Research Station (UAPISHKA)

Informational Webinar: Tuesday, 17 March 2020, 10:00-11:00 (CET, +1UTC).
The webinar will provide information about the ongoing TA/RA call and for answering questions related to the application process and TA and RA in general.

Join the Webinar via Zoom

Access Available: June 2020 — April 2021

Application Deadline: 31 March 2020
For any additional information, please contact Trans-national Access Project Planner Heli Niittynen, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events