Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


The AGU Cryosphere Section Executive Committee would like to remind you that it is time to nominate your colleagues for AGU Fellow, AGU Ambassador, Union Medals, Cryosphere Early Career Award (10 years post-degree), and Nye lecturer.  Fellow/Ambassador and Union Medal nominations have been extended to  March 15, 2020 and Cryosphere Section award nominations are due April 15, 2020.  Instructions for the nominations can be found below.  

In the past 4 years, for the Cryosphere Section awards, ~20% of nominations received have been for women or minorities which is below the percentage of women and minorities in our general population (~32% women, currently no minority statistics).  AGU is looking to increase diversity across awards and particularly encourages international and female nominees.  International nominees are required to be AGU members for at least 3 years.  As a reminder, nominations of Fellows and Ambassadors who declare multiple section affiliations will be reviewed within each section they declare within AGU.  

Keep up to date on the latest AGU Cryosphere news on our Facebook GroupwebsiteTwitter#AGUCryo.


Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events