Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Organizers of the 2020 Arctic Observing Summit (AOS 2020) invite the community to join the virtual meetings that will convene Monday, 30 March — Thursday, 2 April 2020 This summit is 100% online (with options for calling in). Events and Working Group activities will be held primarily on the Zoom platform and by recorded videos.

Convened Online via Zoom

Meeting Agenda

Registration Information

Suggested Registration Fees Now Available

The Arctic Observing Summit provides community-driven, science-based guidance for the design, implementation, coordination, and sustained long-term operation of an international network of Arctic observing systems. In practice, this means gathering the Arctic observing community together to exchange ideas and develop ways to collaborate, share resources, and improve Arctic observing.

The 2020 AOS theme is “Observing for Action.” The agenda for the summit consists of plenary and breakout sessions centered around the following sub-themes:

  • Design, optimization and implementation of the observing system
  • Observing in support of adaptation and mitigation
  • Observing in support of Indigenous food security and related needs
  • Data interoperability and federated search
  • Arctic observations in the context of global observing initiatives

Organizers hope that you join us for this exciting meeting in a novel format!

Learn More on the AOS 2020 Website

Or, by following us on twitter, @arcticchange;

Or, by email, at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

See you online,
The AOS Executive Committee

2020 AOS Co-Chairs
Hajo Eicken, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Thorsteinn Gunnarsson, The Icelandic Centre for Research, Iceland
Peter Schlosser, Arizona State University, USA

2020 AOS Committee
Alice Bradley, Williams College, USA
Raychelle Aluaq Daniel, Pew Charitable Trusts, USA
Gerlis Fugmann, Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany
Larry Hinzman, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Eva Kruemmel, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Canada
Jan Rene Larsen, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program/SAON Secretariat, Norway
Maribeth Murray, University of Calgary, Canada
Roberta Pirazzini, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
Allen Pope, International Arctic Science Committee, Iceland
Peter Pulsifer, Carleton University, Canada
Ravi Darwin Sankar, University of Calgary, Canada
Federica Scarpa, International Arctic Science Committee, Iceland

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events