Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


IGS logoThe International Glaciological Society is pleased to announce that it has recently established an Honorary Award, commencing in 2021, exclusively for Early Career Scientists.

This new IGS Early Career Scientist Award will be given in recognition of significant scientific and/or community contributions to Glaciology by an ECS. 

Nominations for the award will be called for every second year (in those years when nominations are not called by IGS for the Graham Cogley Award). The Award prize will include an engraved medallion, a certificate and a cash prize (500 GBP in 2021). Details of the prize, and Guidelines for nomination are available at

The close off date for the 2021 award is Friday 11 June 2021 (Nominations received after that date will be considered for 2023). All nominations will be acknowledged, and the result of any successful 2021 awards will be announced in late July/early August. Although the ECS nominations will be considered on the same timetable as the other recently announced IGS Awards for 2021 (the Seligman Crystal; the Richardson Medal; and Honorary Membership), this is a distinctly new Award.

Nomination packages should be sent by email, marked confidential, to the Chair of the Awards Committee (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) and copied to the Secretary General (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).

We are excited by this new award, and very much look forward to nominations of worthy Early Career Glaciologists from your community.

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events