Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Co-leads Drs. Ross Virginia (Dartmouth College) and Mike Sfraga (University of Alaska - Fairbanks) are hoping to attract a diverse team of scholars, applied researchers, and leaders who will work together to advance knowledge useful to solving problems facing the North. The deadline for international applicants is February 2 and for US scholars, February 16.

The basics of the program are:

Fulbright Arctic Initiative will bring together a network of scholars, professionals and applied researchers from the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia and Sweden for a series of three seminar meetings and a Fulbright exchange experience. The Initiative will provide a platform for scholars from across the Arctic region to engage in collaborative thinking, analysis, problem-solving and multi-disciplinary research in one of four areas: Energy, Water, Health, and Infrastructure.
Sixteen outstanding scholars from the U.S. and abroad will be selected to participate in the program as Fulbright Arctic Initiative Scholars through an open, merit-based competition. Co-Lead Scholars Dr. Michael Sfraga and Dr. Ross A. Virginia will provide intellectual leadership throughout the Program, in addition to mentoring program participants and facilitating discussion and collaboration among the Arctic Initiative Scholars. Program activities will commence in spring 2015 and conclude in fall of 2016.

Program Activities
At its core, the Fulbright Arctic Initiative will create a network to stimulate international scientific collaboration on Arctic issues while increasing mutual understanding between people of the United States and the people of other countries. Using a collaborative model to translate theory into practice, program participants will address public-policy research questions relevant to Arctic nations' shared challenges. Program activities will commence in spring 2015 and conclude in fall of 2016.

Candidates must be from one of the eight Arctic Countries (United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia and Sweden). Successful candidates will include scholars at all career stages, to included applied researchers, professionals, and indigenous and traditional knowledge experts active in academic, public or private sectors that demonstrate outstanding qualifications and a record of experience and accomplishment in an a area clearly related to the program research themes: Energy, Water, Health and Infrastructure.

For more information on how to apply and eligibility requirements, please visit our website or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events