Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


The Oceans Future reception during Arctic Frontiers 2017 in Tromsø Norway was held at the Scandic Ishavshotel on 26th of January 2017 after an intense poster session with vivid discussions. Thanks to the voluntary help of 20 judges, the 50 posters presented by early career scientists were evaluated to determine the ‘Nansen award’ winners for each topical part as well as one overall winner. Part I was about Bridging physical and biological processes; Part II was about Pushing back the Frontiers: New approaches, new technologies, and new insights; Part III about Future Fisheries, and Part IV about Managing risks in policymaking and the law. Part III and IV were merged into one category. It was a tough decision with tight scoring due to the high quality of the posters that were presented. Award winners were acknowledged with a diploma and a voucher to attend the next Arctic Frontiers conference during the awards ceremony, which was presented by Hanna Kauko and Mar Fernández-Méndez and the charismatic presence of Prof. Jan-Marcin Weslawski (IOPAS, Poland). At the end of the evening, Gerlis Fugmann (APECS Executive Director) arrived at the venue directly from a meeting in Iceland to join the celebration of the prizes.

Winners of the 2017 Nansen Awards were:

  • Overall winner: Katalin Blix (UiT Arctic University of Norway) for the poster “Monitoring primary productivity through Chlorophyll-a content estimation in the Arctic.”
  • Winner Part I: Oliver Müller (University of Bergen, Norway) for the poster “How permafrost organic matter input in an Arctic fjord alters the bacterial community structure.”
  • Winner Part II: Sarah Holmes (University of Exeter, UK) for the poster “Using annually resolved bivalve records and biogeochemical models to understand and predict climate impacts on coastal oceans.”
  • Winner Part III/IV: Laura Wheeland (Center for Fisheries and Ecosystem Research, Newfoundland, Canada) for the poster “Inshore fisheries resources, biogeography and oceanography: Insight from sampling aboard platforms of opportunity in the Canadian Arctic.”

See you next year,
Mar Fernández-Méndez and the APECS-Arctic Frontiers team

Picture5 AF NA

Photo: In the upper left photo you can see the winners of the third edition of the Nansen Poster Awards. Below you can see some of the APECS members, including our director, who made these events possible. From left to right: Mar Fernández-Méndez, Hanna Kauko, Alexey Pavlov, Karley Campbell and Gerlis Fugmann. (Photos by Marcel Sieben)

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
AWI WortBildmarke Farbe RGB
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events