Association of Polar Early Career Scientists


Banner 4

                               © Alexey Pavlov, Caroline Coch, Alice Bradley, Adrian Dahood, Elizabeth Erickson (left to right)

In our Polar and Alpine Community News we feature news from the many partners that APECS is working with, as well as other news from a variety of sources related to research in the Arctic, Antarctic and Alpine regions as well as the wider Cryosphere. Many thanks to APECS members and the wider Polar research community for contributing to this shared resources!  

If you want to submit Polar or Alpine News for this page, please use the link below. If you have any questions, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We keep only the news of the last 3 months on this page. Older news can be accessed in our Polar and Alpine News Archive

Seeking new co-leads for the IARPC Diversity & Inclusion Community of Practice

The Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee (IARPC) is seeking applications for co-leads for the Diversity and Inclusion Community of Practice. New co-leads will join Sarah Aarons (Scripps/UCSD), Tracie Curry (Northern Social Environmental Research), Allen Pope  (National Science Foundation), and Monika Sikand (Stevens Institute of Technology). We encourage people from diverse backgrounds and all career stages to apply.


Read more ...

Call for PYRN Executive Committee members

PYRN is looking for 3 members to fill positions on the 2022-2024 ExComm! Joining the ExComm is a great way to meet other early career researchers from around the globe and develop collaborations with amazing new people. You’ll help with planning activities for young researchers, creating new opportunities for collaboration and sharing permafrost science, and support planning initiatives of both national and international permafrost conferences. If you are interested in applying, send a cv and a brief statement (200 words maximum) about your qualifications and why you are interested in the role to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by April 1, 2023.

AGATA offers scholarships to attend the IUGG GA

Thanks to SCAR and SCOSTEP/PRESTO funding the new born Scientific Research Programme Planning Group AGATA, recently approved by SCAR ( is glad to open a call for applications for scholarships to cover actual expenses up to 800-1000 € depending on the status of the candidate (students vs researchers). The scholarship will support the attendance of (Master or PhD) students or Early Career Researchers (up to 5 years from the PhD) to the next IUGG General Assembly (Berlin, 11-20 July 2023, 
Read more ...

AGU Cryo Award - Call for Nominations

The AGU Cryosphere Canvassing Committee is striving to receive a wide diversity of nominations for the Early Career, Nye Lecture, and AGU Fellows awards. Nearly anyone can lead a nomination and if you don't have time to lead one, consider filling out our suggestion box and we can try to help. Note that the Nye Lecture now accepts nominations for science teams! 
Read more ...

IGS Sea Ice symposium - Support for ECRs and Indigenous Scientists

To support and increase the number of Early Career (ECS) and Indigenous Scientists (IS) at the IGS Symposium on Sea Ice – Across Temporal and Spatial Scales, together with partners, we offer funding to partially cover the expenses to attend the conference.

Key facts:

  • Prerequisite: early career scientist (up to five years after PhD) or indigenous scientist
  • Support will cover the symposium registration fee (if registered before the Early-bird deadline 28 March 2023) and variable travel support depending on location of residence (300€–1000€).

Please visit the Early Career support section on the local website.

Permafrost tunnel virtual tour

Explore an Arctic research facility first excavated in the 1960s, including features such as ice wedges as tall as houses, green grass from thousands of years ago, and bison bones embedded in permafrost. Some features are up to 40,000 years old! Learn about current research and rapid changes happening to permafrost. Be one of the first to experience this guided virtual reality tour of a facility seldom open to the public. 

Permafrost tunnel

Read more ...

Call for New Members - SOOS Scientific Steering Committee

The Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR) and the SCAR invite nominations of qualified individuals to serve on the SOOS Scientific Steering Committee (SSC), for terms beginning on 1 August 2023. 

SOOS SSC members are selected for their scientific excellence and standing in a field of Southern Ocean science that is relevant to at least one of the SOOS Science Themes or Foundational Capabilities in the SOOS Science and Implementation Plan (2021-2025), and connection to, and representation of a SOOS-relevant community or program. The SOOS objectives are multidisciplinary and integrated, thus SSC members need to have interests in developing and planning of system-scale implementation strategies, beyond their core scientific interests. The SSC membership strives to maintain diversity through disciplinary, nationality, gender and career-stage balance. Information on current SOOS SSC members is available here. Membership on the SSC is for a three-year period, with the potential for renewal for an additional three years, on approval of the SOOS Executive Committee, SCAR and SCOR.

Read more ...

Contact APECS

APECS International Directorate
UiT The Arctic University of Norway
Huginbakken 14
9019 Tromsø
Email: info(at)

Our Sponsors

APECS Directorate Sponsor
Further Sponsors and Partners for APECS projects, activities and events